God’s infinite spirograph

Flickr seems unstructured to most people I talk to. A random collection of pictures thrown together with some simple keywords and search to try and derive some order from the chaos. To me, it looks crystalline, with fine threads hanging here and there like pencil lines, dividing the world into spaces: christmas/flower/manhole/fire…. each new tag is a new geometric aspect.

//everywhere I see the bones – their shapes entwined into the flowers of god’s infinite spirograph//

2 Responses to “God’s infinite spirograph”

  1. Noz Says:

    This facinates me. I wonder if we’re seeing a division in the world – a second-gen of users. Those that understand structure and those who don’t. As the exponential increase in content continues, things like Flickr that allow one to navigate across the oceans of “stuff” in a few clicks, will be the tool and the conceptual framework that seperates those who get their boat to Fiji, and those end up resorting to canabalism and lime-sucking to stave off scurvy.
    PS – I put in “manhole” and imagine my disappointment…

  2. Noz Says:

    This facinates me. I wonder if we’re seeing a division in the world – a second-gen of users. Those that understand structure and those who don’t. As the exponential increase in content continues, things like Flickr that allow one to navigate across the oceans of “stuff” in a few clicks, will be the tool and the conceptual framework that seperates those who get their boat to Fiji, and those end up resorting to canabalism and lime-sucking to stave off scurvy.
    PS – I put in “manhole” and imagine my disappointment…


Leave a Reply

